The rail network in Central Bedfordshire

Central Bedfordshire is well connected to the National Rail network.

There are three strategically important rail lines which operate through Central Bedfordshire.

East Coast Mainline

Between London and Scotland via the North East and Yorkshire.

Midland Mainline

Between London and Sheffield via the East Midlands.

West Coast Mainline

Between London and Glasgow via the West Midlands and North West.


Thameslink operates between London Kings Cross and Peterborough on the East Coast Mainline and serves the towns of Sandy, Biggleswade and Arlesey. This franchise also operates along the Midland Mainline between London St Pancras and Bedford, serving Flitwick and Harlington.

London Midland

Operates along the West Coast Mainline between London Euston and Birmingham, with a stop at Leighton Buzzard. Southern also stop at Leighton Buzzard, providing services between Milton Keynes and East Croydon via West London.